For bodily injury liability the minimum amount of coverage required is $25, 000 for each injured individual. The total allowable amount is $50,000.
$25, 000 is the minimum amount for property damage.
Do not try to get around having coverage. Georgia uses a database that contains all the information submitted by insurance companies, within 30 days from any changes, to track insurance coverage of individuals. The state is supplied with the vehicle identification number and this information is cross referenced with the tag database. The system works the same way as the system officers use to make sure the vehicle is not stolen.
Having insurance cards no longer proof that you have insurance. Georgia will not accept the card as proof; but, you must keep it in your vehicle in case of an accident. We have many more Auto Insurance Help Articles Now Available.
Georgia state law requires that someone must be at fault for the cause of the accident. Whoever is at fault is responsible for the damages caused as a result of the accident. If you do not have insurance and you are found to be at fault, the cost for damages will come out of your own pocket.
Georgia, just like all states, have specific sets of rules and requirements with regard to car insurance.
It is possible that your insurance will not pay for damages under certain circumstances, if this happens, Georgia has uninsured coverage for these cases and in cases where someone can not obtain insurance. You must provide proof that your insurance company does not cover damages in the situation that you find yourself in. There are exceptions to the coverage and it is up to the individual judge as to whether the exceptions will apply.
As a resident of the state, you have the right to be paid for damage done because of the accident. This includes any injury to your person, property damage and death.
The state of Georgia, and some other states, will allow you to piggy back your insurance. Basically, if the other persons insurance does not cover all the damages because of the coverage amount on the policy, you can have your limits added to theirs, if you have uninsured or under insured coverage on your insurance.
Make sure to check your insurance card and policy to ensure that all information is correct. This includes the vehicle tag number and vehicle identification number. Notify the insurance company immediately if you find inaccurate information. We have many more Auto Insurance Help Articles Now Available.