Auto insurance in Missouri, like many other states, any driver or owner of an automobile is required to carry liability insurance on their vehicle. Even though this is a requirement, many individuals involved in accidents find that the drivers have no insurance. Due to this, many have unpaid collision claims and all residents suffer from rate increases.
If you register a vehicle in this state, you must have liability insurance. Proof of insurance will be required when registering the vehicle or renewing plates. Proof of insurance must also be kept in the vehicle at all times. If you are asked to provide proof by law enforcement and you cannot, you will be ticketed.
Liability insurance provides legal coverage to you in case of injury or property damage that results as part your actions. The state of Missouri requires 25/50/10 coverage.
You are also required to carry $25, 000 of uninsured motorist coverage.
If you do not maintain your coverage, the Department of Revenue will receive a notification. They will also be notified if you are not able to produce proof of insurance to a law enforcement officer.
You have several options available to you for meeting the minimum requirements. These options include: Liability insurance, self insurance for an individual with over 25 vehicles, $60, 000 form of security that has been filed with Department of Revenue or a real estate bond that has been filed with the Department of Revenue.
Your responsibility as a driver is to be able to show proof of insurance whenever it is requested by law enforcement.
Failure to show proof of insurance can result in several punishments.
The Driver License Bureau will receive notification of the conviction. At that time, it will be appear on your driving record. You will also be assessed with 4 points. Remember that if you receive 8 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended.
At the courts discretion, it can order the Driver License Bureau to monitor you to ensure that you maintain coverage.
Your license may be suspended by court order. The Driver License Bureau will receive the court order and then the person who has received the suspension will be notified.
If your license or plates are suspended for not maintaining insurance, there are specified time limits on the suspension.
The first suspension is 0 days.
The second suspension within a 2 year period is for 90 days.
If there is a third incident, the suspension is for 12 months.
When the time period is over, your license or plates will be reinstated as long as you provide the Driver License Bureau with certain documentation.
For a first time offense proof of insurance and a $20 reinstatement fee is required.
The second offense requires proof of insurance and a $200 reinstatement fee.
For a third or subsequent offense, proof of insurance and a $400 reinstatement fee are required.
For three years after the suspension period ends, proof of insurance must be kept and filed with Department of Revenue. Failure to do so will result in another suspension. This suspension will be effective for the remainder of the 3 year period unless you provide proof of insurance and pay the instatement fee again.
We have many more Auto Insurance Help Articles Now Available.